When whatever you do is not good enough

Posted: June 1, 2010 in cycling
Tags: , ,

Well, it never ceases to amaze me how weird some things that happen during my ride to or from work are. Tonight whilst riding down the PSP from the city towards Canning Bridge I had a cyclist say to me that my lights were to bright and that I was dazzling other cyclists.

Being concerned that this was the case I made sure that my lights were appropriately positioned and were not blinding any of the on-coming bikes/runners.  My concerns were immediately put to rest when they really were positioned well, facing the ground and not causing any issues.  I then said to the cyclist that I was happy with them and I was satisfied that no problems were being caused.  He then told me I was a wanker and to get off the path.  Surprised by this statement I asked him to explain this to me, obviously the foul mouth he had confirmed that he was not able to hold up or substantiate his argument.

He then also went on to tell me that I was also very irritating for using my bell to warn pedestrians and other cyclists that I was approaching.   I found this all very difficult to stomach, as if anything I am very anti bad behaviour on the cycling paths, always using lights, warning approaching people and never going through red lights, something I cannot say for lots of cyclists.  I might also mention that this cyclist only had a single LED light on the front of his bike.  Not exactly what I would call safe.

Unfortunately this is were I slipped up a little bit, instead of acting like the better person I also called him a wanker, something I really should have not done.  Dropping myself to his level was not a good thing to do.  However being told your a wanker for having lights and a bell, both of which are a legal requirement in Australia was quite a surprise.

I really am starting to find the quality of behaviour on our roads and bike paths very upsetting.  I am getting to the point were I am becoming embarrassed to admit to being a cyclist, something I have always been proud to tell everyone.  Is it really that much to ask to obey the road rules, be curtious and keep themselves and those around them safe.  It seems so.

I also took this very small video of a bunch of cyclists once again ignoring the red lights

Comments
  1. Alice says:

    Wow, sounds like someone pissed in his coffee that day. What an asshole. Good for you for having lights, not running traffic lights and for riding safe. Be careful out there and pay no attention to the jerks.

  2. Scott says:

    Another day of dealing with the locals dude.
    Never ceases to amaze me the stupidity of some and then whinge about it later when they have an accident.
    Really does make it hard for the rest of us law abiding cyclists.

  3. Hi

    Gee I guess he had some issues there. Lesson I learnt along time ago and you mentioned … abuse = can’t argue the point in a meaningful way = don’t be bothered replying.

    Well done on the good lights but I am not sure I am a fan of those little lights. Superflash or similar on the rear x 2 for me.

    Andrew

  4. Becker says:

    It amazes me when cyclists run red lights. I don’t mind the lights and use the time to take a break or just take in what is going on around me. My personal peeve is helmets. I always wear one and always have long before the law mandated it. Yet people either refuse to wear them or they sit them on their head with the straps undone which to me would be more annoying or they have them so badly adjusted aaaarrrgghhhh. Even writing about it makes me mad.

    Why not make a stand if you don’t agree with the helmet law and NOT buy 1 to start with? Instead of buying the cheapest 1 they have, hanging it on your bars and then risking a crash due to the thing swinging around all over the place?

    Beats me

Leave a Reply

