Half Marathon

Posted: February 7, 2010 in run
Tags: , , , , ,

Having been woken up at a crazy time by my good lady with a bad dream, I found myself unable to get back to sleep.  What should I do, xbox, PS3, play on the Mac.  Any of these would have been the easy and fun options at this time of the morning.

However having been a bit slack of late with my cycling and running I decided that  a run would be the order of the day.  I quickly got dressed, downed a 300ml coffee milk scoffed a chocolate Timtam and off I went.

My plan was just to do a medium length run, more than likely 10k or so.  However the condiditons in Perth today were just right and very appealing to the runner inside of me.  Not much wind, low temperatures and plenty of time to get out there.

As soon as I started running I knew I would not be happy with just a10k  it was just to perfect.  I kept the pace slow, mainly because I was tired, yesterday I drove back from Denmark in Western Australia, 450km of winding roads and concentration was essential.

Anyway I got into a routine and stuck with it, my plan was to achieve a constant 10km/h or 6min/km, this I have to say I found tough, every time I checked the GPS my speed was creeping up.  I managed to keep it low and managed to finish at 10.7km/h average.

All in all a great run and I cannot wait to try another 20-30k this coming Friday when I have an RDO.  Below is a snap from the GPS (motionx) from the run.

Its a pity I was not aware that a mate of mine, Lee Davis also run almost 20k today I think if we had hooked up we would have had much better times and possibly more distance.

Comments
  1. Fairy says:

    You are a nut job dude.
    Totally f*&king insane, but good effort on the run. If only you could swim we would sign you up for the Half Ironman.

Leave a Reply

