SPR Ride No2

Posted: October 17, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Today was the return to the SPR ride, I have done this group ride once before 2 weeks ago and was certainly keen to give it another go.  I found the first ride pretty easy.  However this time I had a feeling it was going to be a different story.  It was.

I got myself down to the meeting point for the 7AM kick off and things started off pretty tame up the Great Eastern, there was a strong headwind but nothing to bad.  I got caught up the front for around 9km at this point pushing forward, this started to take its toll on my legs pretty quickly.  Probably due to the heat.

The ride then as we headed towards Midland took a turn for the quicker and I found it hard to hand on if I’m honest, I persisted and with a little help from some traffic light managed to hold on until the end.  The pleasing thing for me was there were a few hills in the last 10k or so and these gave me a second wind.  Anyone who ever rides with me know I prefer riding up a hill to on the flat so I was happy as Larry.

It was god to meet Lorraine and also @madrapper came along for the ride as well, always good to have some good company on a ride when its starting to hurt.  In summary another great ride organsised by the SPR guys, well run and safe which is always a good thing.  The weather certainly played a part in the pain for me probably due to the fact that we went straight into a hot day with no real run up to get used to it.

Stats for the ride were 33km/h average which really doesn’t to the ride justice in relation to the effort put out.  The distance was just under 50k
Garmin Connect - Dashboard for craigdurk

Garmin Connect - Activity Details for spr ride

Comments

Leave a Reply

