A year bike store free

Posted: September 25, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , ,

buying-online-tips

Today I decided to take a stand (although a lonely one no doubt) at bike stores here in Australia.  I have decided that I will NOT visit a bike store in this country for an entire year.

This means I will not get a service, repair or even buy so much as tube at the prices at which these guys charge.  More and more I hear about how people want better pricing for there goods, be it cycling equipment, running gear, books, bluray movies etc etc.  However what are we doing to make a stand.  Nothing. People will continue to charge us these crazy prices because they can.

So I encourage others to do the same, buy your stuff from online sources, such as chainreaction.co.uk , wiggle.co.uk , bookdepository.co.uk , jenson USA the list goes on and on.  I really want to support my local dealers and suppliers but I can no longer justify the markups that they crave.

I will keep you all updated on what I buy, where from and the savings over local prices, even taking into consideration postage and any taxation from Australian Customs.

Comments
  1. Gavin says:

    I feel sorry for traditional retailers trying to compete with online retailers as margins just cannot be matched with all the overheads of running a physical shop etc.

    What I don’t feel sorry for is that these stores especially bike stores I have found have very bad customer service and I always feel as if I am not worthy to be riding a bike.

    I am more than happy to pay a little extra if I get an enjoyable shopping experience in return. A little customer service will go a long long way.

    I’ll join you in your stand and also go a year bike store free.

  2. Greg says:

    I have heard people saying “Support your local bike shop” “Support Australian Jobs”. Well, my view is that if you support your local bike shop you are supporting an obsolete retail model of manufacturer->importer/distributor->LBS with everyone wanting their cut and very little value adding. There will always be a place for a LBS offering good customer service. Some people will simply not purchase over the Internet. I can also see a place for great mechanics setting up repair/service businesses without the expense of retail shop fronts and also for mobile bike mechanics. But until a LBS can buy directly from manufacturers and on sell products with lower markups, customers will increasingly purchase from overseas.

  3. Evan says:

    Well done Craig! I took my bike in for it’s 12 month service this week and was charged full price. Under the warranty I was meant to receive a 20% discount (never offered). I asked the question and was told that they had to check with management and would call me…still waiting. I am done with this LBS and to be honest will never go there again. If I can give a pat on the back to anyone it would be TBE at Riverton…young guy gave me 20% off a pump this week. I ordered last week some Continental Gatorskin tyres from Pro Bike Kit on the 13th and was using them yesterday all for $35 a tyre. LBS sell them for $80 something. I am joining you Craig….12 months it is!

  4. Andrew says:

    Hi Craig

    An interesting idea and I sort of agree with you. Like you I have had less than great service from some LBS (Fleet comes to mind) and been less impressed with others, but there are one or two out there that do provide good customer service, so I will still support them when it suits me. The emphasis being on suits me. Otherwise I will do what you do and shop online.

    Regards
    Andrew

  5. craigjdurkee says:

    Awesome news, seems like people are also willing to have a go bike store free for a year.

    I wonder how we will go.

  6. […] Update on a Year Bike Store Free April 20, 2010 — craigjdurkee For those of you who know my opinions on Local Bike Store pricing here in Australia you will be familiar with a little experiment that I started last Sept in which I was planning to spend a whole year without purchasing anything from a bike store here in Australia.  You can find the original post here. […]

Leave a Reply

