A ride to Hillarys

Posted: July 3, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Today I took a day off and decided to go for a longer ride on my new Surly.  I had planned on doing around 100km but in the end settled for around the 65k mark.

The weather was good, clear skies, cold but very good weather for riding.  I had planned to go up to Hillary’s Boat Harbour via the beach and then return via the freeway bike track.  I am not that familiar with riding in Perth yet so I was relived that I made it without to much trouble.

I was really looking forward to seeing how the new bike performed on a longer ride.  It’s a heavy beast, but I really enjoy riding it.  The saddle, Brooks B-17 is really great, its not even remotely worn in yet, so I can only assume it will even get better with age.

I set off along the bike track, heading into the city, through to Scarborough Beach Road and into Scarborough.  It was great to see the ocean, people were surfing and loads of people out walking it was great.

IMG_0200

From Scarborough it was about 6km up the beach road paths  to Hillarys.  There were lots of people enjoying the bike tracks which was great to see, people are really starting to realise how cool biking is these days.

A quick photo opportunity at Hillarys then it was on my way back to Perth.

IMG_0210

On the way back home, I spotted some black cockatoo’s enjoying ripping a few trees apart, they sure are noisy, but very cool.

IMG_0220

The trip back to Perth was pretty uneventful, however I did get chatting to a guy called Simon who spotted that I was riding a Long Haul Trucker, he was thinking of getting one himself so we chewed the fat for a while which was nice.  He was undecided about purchasing from a local dealer or via the net.  I told him where I got mine from and it looks as if he has dealt with Mickey before and was happy with the service.

I also decided to hook up the iPhone on the handlebars with my Belkin iPod armband, it worked really well and held great satellite reception all through the ride.  As long as the weather is fine I think I shall continue to use it for this purpose.

IMG_0199

Details of today’s ride from motionx are as follows

Name: Hillarys
Date: 03/07/2009 8:39 am
Distance: 62.3 kilometers
Elapsed Time: 3:22:54
Avg Speed: 18.4 km/h
Max Speed: 48.1 km/h
Avg Pace: 03′ 15″ per km
Min Altitude: 0 m
Max Altitude: 36 m
Start Time: 2009-07-03T00:39:43Z
Start Location:
Latitude: 31.989842º S
Longitude: 115.873923º E
End Time: 2009-07-03T04:02:37Z
End Location:
Latitude: 31.989582º S
Longitude: 115.873955º E

rubi

More pictures of the ride here

Leave a Reply

