How to change a life

Posted: May 1, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags:

fitness_buttimg_assist_custom

3 years ago almost to the day I was sat in traffic on my way home to Hawthorn in Victoria when it suddenly dawned on me, I was wasting so much time being unhappy in jams.  Trams, buses and other cars were really turning my daily work trip into a nightmare.

One other thing I was :-

FAT

LAZY

UNMOTIVATED

These are 3 things that really are not good for you.  107KG of me was unhappy.  I needed a big change, cyclists zoomed past me and I wondered if that was the way to make a change.

The very next day I purchased a bike.  The very next day I rode it home from work 23k all up.  It felt so painful yet so worthwhile all at the same time.  I had no time to dwell on being unhappy, I was not stuck in traffic.  The next chapter had begun.

Slowly but very consistantly I started loosing weight, I knew, not because I weighed myself but my clothes were getting loose, my belt needed adjusting all things that were helping me get myself back on track.  I was loving it.  Best of all it really didn’t take up any extra time to get myself to the gym, arrange training etc.  I just used the time I would normally be stuck in traffic to my advantage.

3 days a week I was riding, then 4 then within a few weeks it was every day 46km without fail.  Then I also started doing extra in the weekends.  The milestones were falling also 50km in a day 75km, 100km, 150km, 200km, 250km all the way up to a personal best of 337km in a single day.

My body had changed I was no longer Fat, I was toned, slim, so much more energy and zest for life it was awesome.  I see so many people around me that feel exactly the same as I did, if only they knew the secret was so easy and really didnt impose on there normal day.

These days 3 years on I have been the EXACTLY the same weight give or take a kilo or so for just under 2 years 76KG.  I’m fighting fit, never have colds, fevers or bugs anymore, clothes simply fit straight of the shelf, going from a 40″ waist to 32″ from XXL t shirts etc to Small its so so easy shopping these days.

I still eat pretty much what I want, I do try and be healthy although I could do allot better, so I really do encourage anyone who is starting to feel a bit down on themselves to get out there and have a go at something active, something that gets them moving, dont by a Nintendo WII FIT and expect that to really work.  Get outdoors and breath in the fresh air and get fit.

Comments
  1. Rodney Olsen says:

    I love your last line. “Get outdoors and breath in the fresh air and get fit.”

    I find it funny to see people in gyms on walking machines looking out the window. Why don’t they save the money on gym membership, get outside and walk somewhere?

  2. aushiker says:

    G’day

    A great read and inspirational … 337 km is something else. Well done on that milestone. Do you ride Audax rides? If not, they might interest you.

    Regards
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

