iPhone app review Run Keeper

Posted: August 21, 2008 in 3g, app store, apple, Google Apps, iphone 3g, run, runkeeper

Ok I thought I would review my latest App Store purchase, Run Keeper.  Its a GPS based training device designed with runners in mind.  I do a little running, not much maybe 30k a week on average, I’m no expert or am I into it that much, however the app seemed appealing so I thought I would fork out the 12 bucks for it and try it.

The main features of the product are :-
  • Map your runs using GPS in Google maps on a personalised web page
  • Tracks speed and pace
  • Tracks distance.
This product will only work with 3G iPhones.
Ok so here goes.  I set ou ton my first run with Runkeeper yesterday just to test it out.  My usual 5k or so around the local oval was an ideal test run, as it just a short jog to get a feeling for the device working.   
First up open the App by clicking on it, you will then be presented with a initial screen asking you to input an email address and a password, this is used to track and log your runs at the end of your session should you want to.  Once that has been completed you will be presented with the actual screen that is used to start and stop your session.
The program will then start to report, several things which are of interest to runners, speed, pace and distance.  They are all displayed and updated in real time, although I just used my arm band and let it do its thing until the end of my exercise.  The app must remain open during your activity, however you can also listen to your ipod part of the iphone whilst using it.
The program also gives you a graph for every minute of exercise you have completed, showing average speed and pace for that minute, something that is handy to see where in your run you hit a low point.

Once you have completed your run, just hit save and your information will be saved to the device and also uploaded to your personal webpage, this time giving you  a map showing the route and KM/Mile markers along the way.  

All up this is a great way to track, runs, bicycle rides and even walks.  It gives you a pretty accurate picture of how your performing on your activities, the big plus for me is that I can se if I am improving, I can compare my performance for say a morning run  to an evening run.  I can compare how fast I am on one route to another of the same distance.  
There are a few things that I would have liked to have seen in the App, it would have been awesome if it could have pulled in data from the weather app and recorded the weather against each activity, as again the weather has a bearing on sports performance, also the ability to out put a file that is Google Earth compatible.  Maybe these are things that will appear in future releases.
But for now I am very happy with how it has turned out and for 12 bucks its something I will use more than Super Monkey Ball.
My score 8/10

Comments
  1. […] models which is on par with a pair of low end asics. You can find my initial review of the app here and the updat here 2.4ghz Macbook Pro 4gb 200GB 16gb 3G White iPhone http://idurx.wordpress.com […]

Leave a Reply

